Daddy, What’s Weed?

Posted: September 2, 2014 in L&HHNY SEASON 4

Bomani D. Armah

“Hey Daddy”, my 8 year old asked from the back seat, “what’s weed?”  I don’t know when I expected to have this conversation.  Being realistic with myself I knew that I knew more, and had more curiosity about things in the adult world, than grown ups ever gave me credit for. This question from Olu wasn’t random.  We were riding along listening to NPR while they aired a story on how the legalization of cannabis was affecting non-smokers in Colorado. I was living one of the affects of marijuana legalization right now: it is now irresponsible to simply have the “just say no” edict with your children in lieu of an in-depth conversation.

One of my problems with a lot of mature subjects being talked about with children, is that adults often times give their kids a “don’t ever do this, it’s bad” story, without ever giving any details or…

View original post 868 more words

Leave a Reply

